Ode To A Cabbage

With purple blush your round and perfect skin
Glows in the morning sun because within
Your leaves there lies a secret: better health!

My mother always told me “Eat it now!”
But within I made a secret vow:
“Nevermore a bite of this I’ll take!”

Ah, cabbage! Share your beauty with my need!
Allow me to transform you and to feed
A dozen wanderers passing by the way.

For you inspire in me a deep desire
For purple sauerkraut: my heart’s a-fire!
If you were mine, I’d cook you on the spot.

2 thoughts on “Ode To A Cabbage”

Leave a Reply

